A group of nine mining concessions, including former operating mines, in Andalucia, Spain.

District Deposit group Name Area Minerals
Huelva Romerita Group Romerita 12ha All metals
2a San Bartolome 12ha Fe
Hispalense 58ha Cu, Mn, Pb, Zn
Hispalense 2a 48ha Cu, Mn, Pb, Zn
Pimpollar 6ha Fe
Segunda Nuestra Senora de los Reyes 12ha Fe
Sevilla El Palancar 158P Mn
Imprevista 18ha All metals
San Pedro 108P All metals


The database of mineral deposits of the Spanish Mining and Geological Institute (IGME) registers the entire Romerita Group of concessions as one single deposit of manganese longer than 2km horizontally and width from 8m (Romerita) to as wide as 100m (Pimpollar) and quartz intrusions wider than 200m.

This group of concessions were previously mined combining surface and underground methods. They were mined for manganese, but there are evidences of copper and standard polymetallic elements: Zn, Ni and Pb.

Historical production figures state a minimum average grade of 35 %MnO2 with a large extension of the deposit both horizontally and at depth.

San Bartolome

The mine plans show a centre deposit of over 100m horizontally and in some areas wider than 25m, with a vertical depth of 30m from surface. The deposit is open at depth. There are also satellite deposits.

The Romerita group is located close (2km approx.), along strike, from the main polymetallic mine in Huelva currently in operation, Aguas Teñidas, owned by Trafigura.

El Palancar

These concessions are located between the mines Rio Tinto, Aznalcollar and Cobre las Cruces.

Historical records indicate production of 300 tonnes per month.

This is a regional map showing the new CMR concessions (green colour) and the major mining projects nearby (black colour).

The image represents the Romerita Group of concessions and the existing Matsa mine with the new deposit discovered.